cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Export STL

Matteo_1987
15-Moonstone

Export STL

Hi everyone,

I disturb you for a problem I have in generating the ".stl" files (in binary format), starting from a ".prt".
For some files there are no problems, for others the attached message appears.
I have to export the models to ".stl" to use them on a simulation program that we have to test.

I kindly ask you if there is any way (e.g. values to be set) to solve the problem, because I have no experience with ".stl" files.

Thank you,
Matteo

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Try enabling the additional settings ....

2020-08-06 at 12.35 PM.png

Then change these properties to see if you can get something to export.

2020-08-06 at 12.34 PM.png

Another couple of ideas:

Change the model accuracy to see if that helps (less accurate)..

Or check for geom-checks (and fix them) in your design and resolve them before trying to export.

Dave

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

Try enabling the additional settings ....

2020-08-06 at 12.35 PM.png

Then change these properties to see if you can get something to export.

2020-08-06 at 12.34 PM.png

Another couple of ideas:

Change the model accuracy to see if that helps (less accurate)..

Or check for geom-checks (and fix them) in your design and resolve them before trying to export.

Dave

Cool, a fellow die caster.  We use MAGMAsoft for our simulations.

We currently use STEP files now to translate into MAGMA.  However, years ago, we used STL.