cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Modifying flanges from sheetmetal conversion

kspabs
7-Bedrock

Modifying flanges from sheetmetal conversion

I'm relatively new to Creo and just started working with sheetmetal with it and can't seem to find a efficient work flow. When making my base surface, then individually adding flanges to adjacent edges I can't figure out how to model the edge rips how I would like or modify the corner reliefs.

What I do find I really like is taking a shell of my part and using the Conversion tool to convert it into a sheet metal part, as it gives me a good control over the two aforementioned parameters. The one issue I can't seem to figure out is how to modify the flanges when I do this. I can't make cuts to the flange along the bend edge without the part retaining a bend where I removed the material.

Does anyone have any advice? Is there a way to add edge flanges to flat sheet in relation to each other so I have better control over the edge rips and corner reliefs? Is it possible to modify Conversion flanges so I can adjust the length parallel to the bend edge?

6 REPLIES 6
StephenW
23-Emerald II
(To:kspabs)

I think it would be helpful if you would include a screenshot or 2 of what is happening and include a screenshot of the model tree so we can see how you got where you are. 

Hi, 

While in sheetmetal mode adding a flange, you can hold shift and select additional adjacent edges. This will continue the flange on the other edges. The flanges will controlled together in the same feature.

1. Select the flange tool
  2. Select the first edge
  3. Hold shift and select a second, adjacent edge

I hope this helps!

Ty

Dale_Rosema
23-Emerald III
(To:Tdaugherty)