cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

search_path not working

ba690d
1-Newbie

search_path not working

Hello, I am a college student with the student version of creo 3. After some time searching the forums, I have yet to solve the issue I am having, and would greatly appreciate some expertise.

I have been working on a cnc project for some time and simply have parts in 2 different folders, "CNC design" and "CNC z axis" that i want creo to search through. I have gone into config. editor and set a search_path to the full path of the cnc z axis folder and saved it to my config.pro that is saved in "CNC design" which is set as the default folder to open when creo opens. I also have a search path to C:\Users\Public\Documents, which is where some of my fasteners were saved, this search path works fine. I have also changed other config options such as display datums etc. and saved to the config.pro, and all of these settings are retained when I open creo.

However, when I try to create a search_path to the "CNC z axis" folder, it will work for the current session, but will no longer be in the configuration editor after closing and reopening creo. 

I have tried removing the spacings from the folder name, as well as adding single and double quotes to the name, none of which made a difference. I also tried creating a search.pro text document under the "CNC design" folder with 
search_path C:\Users\brad\Documents\Pro Engineer\CNC Design
search_path C:\Users\brad\Documents\Pro Engineer\CNC z axis

written into the document and created a search_path_file directed to it. This option didn't work at all, even upon regenerating the assembly, so I must have done something wrong.