cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Stay updated on what is happening on the PTC Community by subscribing to PTC Community Announcements. X

Odd-Even page in FOSI

RayStachowiak
12-Amethyst

Odd-Even page in FOSI

I want to set the titles for a paragraph quad right on even pages and quad right on odd pages. How do I determine odd/even pages in a FOSI, I am not good at ACL? Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Here is an example of the FOSI coding. Also see Figure 106 in my book.

Note that the id and quadding attributes or pseudo-attributes do not have to be on the title element, they could be on the parent element (XXX in the example below). In that case, be sure to specify the attloc and xrefidtag characteristics on the savetext category.

In the title e-i-c:

<att>
<fillval attname="id" attloc="XXX" fillcat="savetext" fillchar="conrule">
<charsubset>
<savetext textid="title-id.txt" xrefidtag="XXX">
<savetext textid="quadding.app" conrule="section-id.txt,\ \,folioct.txt[BO],\&#RE;\" append="1">
</charsubset>
</att>

On the top tag in the document, code the usetext that writes the external ASCII file:

<usetext source="quadding.app" placemnt="after" userule="1"></usetext>

In this example, the ASCII file is called quadding.exp and looks like this:

a1 1
a2 1
a3 2
a4 2
a5 3
a6 3

The next step is to run the ACL to find each id, determine if the page is right (odd) or left (even), and fill the quadding attribute or pseudo-attribute accordingly. Then the ACL should format the document again.

Note that the title e-i-c also needs the following attribute tests:

<att>
<specval attname="quadding" attval="left">
<charsubset>
<quadding inherit="1" quad="left" lastquad="lleft">

</charsubset>
</att>

<att>
<specval attname="quadding" attval="right">
<charsubset>
<quadding inherit="1" quad="right" lastquad="lright">

</charsubset>
</att>

Good luck!

Suzanne