cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

Constrain equal angles

Reoyo
6-Contributor

Constrain equal angles

Hello everybody,

I have been working with ProEngineer/Creo for almost 4 years already. Of course, I had to check many times the discussions in that community, always finding a solution to my issues and being able to handle them.

But I could not find an answer to today´s problem yet... See below explanations regarding the issue, as well as my main worklines.

The model I want to create can be simplified considering it as two joints in a row, but imposing some constrains to their angles.

As you can see in the pictures below, turning angles of red crosses must be equal all the time. In the same way, turning angles of yellow hitches must be equal as well.

[PHOTO_1.jpg]

I want to implement that constrains so that I can include the component in a driveline and perform kinematic analysis on it.

I tried to do it in two different ways:

1. I created two input parameters, reading "alfa" and "beta" in the first joke. Then, I created a relationship stating that "alfa" and "beta" in the second joke are equal to the input parameters values.

[PHOTO_2.jpg]

This way gives me two problems. The first one is that just the input angles are free when I drag the components, and the output ones are chosen once I regenerate the model.

Not only that, every time I regenerate, the "reading input parameters" change. So, I need to regenerate many times until output and input parameters are more or less equal...

That method is not either smart or accurate, and I think I could do it better.

2. I used the constrain "Gears"

It worked fine in order to constrain the two red corsses, and it looks exactly what I wanted to get. See constrain details attached.

[PHOTO_3.jpg]