cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

Machining of a weldment assy

EricLeBlanc
1-Newbie

Machining of a weldment assy

Hi there,

I have created an assembly of parts that needs to be welded together . Than, I have to machined the welded assy. What would be the proper technique to be able to produce a welded assembly and a part refering to the welded assy who would become the "as machined". Of course the part needs update if the assembly change...

I have played around with Merge, Inheritance, Copy Geom...but all those command works well with a part but not with an assembly.

I have tried Edit - Component Operations - Merge. With that I can produce a merge part from an assembly but part does not update if I make changes to the assembly...

I'm new to PRO/E, I'm use to Catia where I can use the command "associate part" to do what I'm trying to do...

Thanks for helping!

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
8 REPLIES 8

4 comments:

(1) If you are concerned about machining using Pro/NC, you can machine assemblies as well as parts, so you don't necessarily have to create a separate part.

(2) Similarly, you can add remove-material features (cuts and holes) to the assembly, and choose whether or not they appear at the level of the part.