cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

[proesys] - Computer processors

DamianCastillo
1-Newbie

[proesys] - Computer processors

Mike,

I am not a Computer Processor expert by any means.

As for the question about RAM. The 3 gig switch for Windows XP is only
related to the 32bit version of the OS. A 32bit OS can't see anything
larger than 3 GB of RAM. If you are running a 64bit OS, you don't need to
do anything in order for all the RAM to be visible and usable by the OS.
This however does not mean that a software application is optimized for
using that RAM or Multiple Processor Cores.

I believe that Wildfire 4 supported multiple processors for threading an
assembly but not sure how much support Pro/E has for multi-core setups
across the board. I am running Wildfire 5 on Windows 7 Professional
64-bit. We have 6GB or Ram on some systems and 12GB on others. We are
running Quad Core's but I could not tell you if Wildfire 5 is taking
advantage of them.

Pro/E supports multi-core, but I think it's only for specific operations.

Damián Castillo
CAD & Administration Manager
Engineering Department
Hensley Industries
This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
1 REPLY 1

Using WF 5 M040 on Win 7 Pro on a Dell Precision T5500 with an

Intel Xeon E5640 processor with 6 Gb RAM that shows eight cores on Task Manager.

Doing regens, etc... on parts and assemblies only shows activity on one core only.