cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

Croe 2.0 from Wildfire 5

saw
11-Garnet
11-Garnet

Croe 2.0 from Wildfire 5

All,

I am curious on what experiences have been found from moving to Creo 2 from Wildfire 4 or 5. I know there is always the 'why did they have to change that' argument, but in reality (without prejudices) what kind of learning curves have been experienced?

3 REPLIES 3
TomD.inPDX
17-Peridot
(To:saw)

I see this subject is being broached lightly

I am a Pro/E 2000i user with some experience in WF3... and now Creo 2.0

I was perfectly comfortable with 2000i. My short 3 month experience in WF3 only made it difficult to know where to find familiar commands. I knew what to look for just not where. The config editor was a bit simpler and I loved being able to finally add shaded images to drawings.

With Creo, it looks like PTC took all the WF icons and threw them in a bin, shook then up a bit and put them in a menu where they fell after throwing them up in the air.

With Creo 2.0 M010, we seem to have a fairly stable system but I am looking forward to M030 or even Creo 3.0 already. As a WF user, you shouldn't have to much trouble getting going. Just go through the tutorials for the new interface.

I'm currently running a test project on Creo 2.0, although we use WF5. The original intention was to go for Creo 1.0, but there seemed no benefit.

Creo 2.0 is a 'nice' looking piece of software but I do have a few frustrations:

• Struggling to get a config.pro AND config.sup to work together.
  • Sketcher preferences seems to have disappeared.
  • In sheet metal I get a lot of crashes when applying a flanged wall.
  • Flicking in between tabs whilst modeling and assembling is not as productive as the WF5 interface.
  • Nowhere near as stable as WF5.