cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

Merge

DieselPig
1-Newbie

Merge

Afternoon All

Having fun modelling a pump volute! I have an example I have studied to understand how it is created and I'm following this with mostly success.

However, I have never used the merge command before and this is where I run into problems.

I have filled and merged the small area arrowed but when I fill and merge the large area the arrow is sat on the small section disappears!

Any ideas?

12 REPLIES 12

Bit more fiddling and I have solved the issue, I changed the large fill for a projection and this has cured the problem.

Next issue is trying to solidify the whole shebang. When I select the model the solidify feature is greyed out so, is there a way to check what elements are not merged?

I've been through my tree and it all looks merged!

Hi,

use Search Tool to find one-sided edges.

MH

Martin Hanák

Thanks Martin

Never used that tool before!

It is showing me edges that I thought were part of a previous merge, do I just merge them to an adjacent edge?

Hi,

you can merge two neighbouring quilt surface.

Note: In case of import geometry, one-side edge reports geometry error and it sometimes can be corrected using Import data doctor.

MH

Martin Hanák

Hi Martin

This where I don't understand the problem. the edges are part of a previous merge that completed successfully so what are the edges being shown?

I did see gaps when I was using a spline on the circular edges so I went for a projection and this worked.

The part is not imported I have created this mess myself!

Hi,