cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Visit the PTCooler (the community lounge) to get to know your fellow community members and check out some of Dale's Friday Humor posts! X

QR Model Problems

ptc-3927116
1-Newbie

QR Model Problems

Hello everyone, newbie here:

I am trying to create a 3-dimensional QR code model and print it out on a 3D printer/makerbot. I have created a model on creo parametric but when generating the .stl file, all the extrusions and features are lost. It just becomes a flat rectangular prism. Can anyone give me advice here?

Also when I create extrusions, they are hollow and not filled. I would like the QR extrusions to be solid filled but I can't do this. Have attached my model.

Appreciate the help!

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.

13 REPLIES 13

Some screenshots of the issue

Your extruded QR is a surface. You cannot export to STL using surfaces. Only your block is being exported.

Understood...how would I be able to convert it to a surface?

Whenever I tried modelling it, it always came out as a surface.

You need closed-boundary sketches. No crossing lines and no spare curves.

Is it possible to make a closed boundary sketch with a QR code - i did not cross lines and there are no curves in that sketch.

As I understand it, it is closed boundary because all the shapes that were used in the sketch are closed off.

Where does the QR geometry come from?