cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

<auto generated name>

bp
6-Contributor
6-Contributor

<auto generated name>

When I start a new asm/prt, how do I get Creo to automatically to fill in a unique name (eg. 0000247506.prt) instead of eg. prt0001.prt.

I have to rename all parts manually everytime I check in (the actual names are irrelevant, they just have to be unique).

I used to have this setting for generation of unique names but I lost this when we moved to Winchill 11.

6 REPLIES 6
Mahesh_Sharma
22-Sapphire I
(To:bp)

Hi,

I am not a Windchill expert however I think below article will answer your query.

https://support.ptc.com/appserver/cs/view/solution.jsp?n=CS20158

bp
6-Contributor
6-Contributor
(To:Mahesh_Sharma)

Sadly i dont have access to that link, could you give me some more info please?

Mahesh_Sharma
22-Sapphire I

Hi,

Contents are as:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

• To disable Autonumbering : Comment out the number algorithm values in the Object Initialization Rule (OIR):

<AttrConstraint id="number" algorithm="com.ptc.core.rule.server.impl.GatherAttributeConstraints">

<!-- 
<Value algorithm="com.ptc.core.rule.server.impl.GetServerAssignedConstraint"/>

<Value algorithm="com.ptc.core.rule.server.impl.GetImmutableConstraint"/>
-->

</AttrConstraint>

Note:To enable Autonumbering again revert back the above changes by uncommenting number algorithm values in Object Initialization Rule

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi BJ,

Did Mahesh's or Milan's answer help resolve your query?  If so, could you please mark it as the Correct Answer.