cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Add the ability to warn users that models in the views of a drawing are modified

Add the ability to warn users that models in the views of a drawing are modified

Each time we check in a new iteration of a drawing, WVS Workers automatically generate a viewable of that drawing in PDF format and add it as an attachment (secondary content) to the drawing in Windchill. This PDF file is then frequently used for production, sent to the customer for approval, ...

This pdf is made in windchill in the "As Stored" configuration so the pdf will show the models as they looked like the last time the drawing has been checked in.

The problem is that when we open a drawing in creo we open a drawing in the normal "Latest" configuration. If we change the underlying parts or  assemblies (without changing anything to the drawing)  we see the correct situation in on the screen

Although the display in creo will be updated to the present situation, the drawing will not be considered as being modified

As a result, when we save all  objects , the drawing will not saved (because it is not modified)

As a next result, since there is no new version checked in, no new pdf is generated as an attachment

The pdf sent to the customer will still be the one of the previous drawing.

Is there a possibility to warn the users that their drawing in fact isn't modified, but the models on the views are ?

3 Comments
StevenDumon
Granite

The config option save_objects seems to enable this by setting it's value to changed_and_specified. As a result, saving a drawing with modified objects but no modified views or notes on the drawing itself, will actually save the (unmodified) drawing.

TomU
Emerald II

We have trained our users here that any time a model changes you MUST open the drawing and re-save it.  We also use the "changed_and_specified" option to allow us to 'force' a save to the drawing even if Creo doesn't think it changed.

There almost needs to be some type of pixel comparison.  If any pixel is different than the last time the drawing was opened, then it should see itself as modified.

PTCModerator
Emeritus
Status changed to: Archived