cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Conflicts dialog box (checkout on the fly) when objects are changed: allow default value "Read Only" to prevent unwanted workspace modification of objects caused by ASM retrieval

Conflicts dialog box (checkout on the fly) when objects are changed: allow default value "Read Only" to prevent unwanted workspace modification of objects caused by ASM retrieval

Current situation

The config.pro option "dm_checkout_on_the_fly" controls the following (from PTC description):

"Controls the default action presented to the user when Check Out on the fly dialog comes up"

This option does not list all new available choices for the Conflict dialog box.

Available choices for the config.pro option "dm_checkout_on_the_fly" at the moment:

  • checkout*
  • continue

Available choices in Conflict dialog (see screenshot below, click to enlarge):

  • Continue
  • Checkout out now
  • Revise and Check out now
  • Make Read-only
  • (in some cases: Check out entire family table)
  • (in some cases: Revise and Check Out Entire Family)

conflicts_read_only_01.png

Available choices in Conflict dialog (see screenshot below, click to enlarge)

What should be done

Add the following config.pro option value to "dm_checkout_on_the_fly":

"Make Read-only" - suggestion for option value: "read_only"

Why this should be done?


The option value "Read only" would prevent unwanted changes of objects that the user is not allowed to change, see the following use case.

Use case

  • User opens assembly
  • Assembly is regenerated during retrieval
  • Conflict dialog comes up as regeneration changes objects:
    • The default action can be configured to "Continue" at the moment, but not to "Make Read-only"
    • User says OK in the dialog (Cancel aborts model retrieval)
  • Objects that the user is not allowed to change (e.g. no check-in rights in Windchill/PDMLink) are set modified in workspace. In the screenshot/example above that are about 43 objects!
  • After the user has done the intended changes in his objects he wants to check-in all changes done by himself
    • There are a lot of objects in workspace which have not been modified with the users intention ("continue" in the Conflict dialog)
    • The user has to update objects in the workspace until check-in of changed objects is possible.
      This is very time consuming and frustrating!

The above change would prevent this problem!

See also


1 Comment
Community Manager
Status changed to: Acknowledged