cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can Bookmark boards, posts or articles that you'd like to access again easily! X

Easier model variation management (Solidworks ConfigurationManager equivalent)

Easier model variation management (Solidworks ConfigurationManager equivalent)

1. Describe your environment: What is your industry? What is your role in your organization? Describe your stakeholders.
Towing and recovery equipment (car carriers, wreckers and so on.) I am a design engineer that designs and models our products for in-house or customer validation.

2. What version of Creo Parametric are you currently running?
We are running 8.0.3.0

3. Describe the problem you are trying to solve. Please include detailed documentation such as screenshots, images or video.
We are trying to switch from Solidworks CAD software to all PTC owned software. We are having a difficult time giving up our ability to control product variations and alternate position that we could easily control with the Solidworks ConfigurationManager. Family Tables in Creo does what we want but the forced action of creating new part numbers for every product variation and alternate position of a top-level item is causing a problem for us. An example: we have a top-level assembly that has hydraulic cylinders. We have to verify the design by extending or retracting a cylinder (alternate position). It is easy to control that with a family table but the new position is considered a new part number (which it is not a new part, just an alternate position). The way a family table drives top-level and lower-level items is counterproductive to validating designs.