cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

Symmetric pattern option

Symmetric pattern option

1. Describe your environment: What is your industry? What is your role in your organization? Describe your stakeholders.
Electrical connector design.  I am a CAD expert and work with our Creo users to get the most out of Creo.

2. What version of Creo Parametric are you currently running?
Creo 7

3. Describe the problem you are trying to solve. Please include detailed documentation such as screenshots, images or video.
Sometimes a feature will be located on a centerline or the center of a larger part/feature and it is desirable to pattern out from that point in the positive and negative direction.  The direction pattern type allows for two directions but it is intended for two different directions, X and Y for example, and will not work properly if one direction is +X and the other is -X (you get duplicate overlapping pattern features).  It would be very helpful if there was an option for the direction pattern type to make the pattern symmetric or an option to pattern in the same but opposite direction.  See attached images of a simple example, today what is shown can only be done using a table pattern. 

See also this PTC article on the topic giving pattern tables as the answer: 

https://www.ptc.com/en/support/article/CS286085

4. What is the use case for your organization?
Most connector designs consist of a multi directional pattern of features.  At times these patterns originate from the center.

5. What business value would your suggestion represent for your organization?
Time savings in Creo by avoiding the need for table patterns, which work but take more time then a directional pattern or the need for relocating the pattern leader to an edge of the pattern.