cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

more efficient communication with warnings/dialogs

more efficient communication with warnings/dialogs

When you try to move a part that is inside a locked/reserved assembly, instead of saying ‘“Part1” is read-only and cannot be modified.’ (which is not necessarily true, and is very mis-leading) how about ‘Part1 is in a locked assembly, how would you like to proceed?’ then offer buttons that offer ‘Reserve Assy1 and continue’, ‘Set Modify Assy1 and continue', and ‘Cancel’.

When you are in Modeling, and load a drawing from Manager, don’t just warn that ‘Loading a drawing will destroy your current drawing. Please confirm to continue’ but also show a view of the drawing that is about to be destroyed. It would also be handy to show the Drawing tab of the Drawing Browser to see if the drawing has already been saved or not. You might even offer to save the current drawing.

When you go to save a drawing in Annotator and there are unsaved changes to the model, don’t just warn ‘Possible data loss and 2d-3d link problems. To retain the associativity, save the 3D model also.’, you can also offer buttons to ‘Auto-save model and drawing’, ‘Save model and return to Annotator’, and ‘Cancel’.

When exiting Modeling/Annotator, it would be helpful to see a view of both Modeling and of Annotation and their browsers  to spark your memory to ensure you’ve saved everything. It would probably also be cool to offer a third button to ‘Auto-save bundle and exit’ which would save a bundle as if it were just another auto-save.

When you have no current workplane and you try to draw or project, instead of just warning ‘No active workplane exists.’ Add a button to ‘Select workplane to make active.’

2 Comments
Newbie

When adding/modifying a view in Annotator, but the part that is attached to is locked, instead of just saying ‘The selected view belongs to a read-only part or assembly!’  how about  offering additional buttons that offer ‘Reserve Part/Assy and continue’, ‘Set Modify Part/Assy and continue', and ‘Cancel’.

Community Manager
Status changed to: Acknowledged