cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

Creo Simulate Bimetal Beam Problem

spaelicke
1-Newbie

Creo Simulate Bimetal Beam Problem

Hello,

I’m pretty new to Creo and Creo Simulate, and I’m using Creo Simulate to look at the stress distribution in a bimetal rectangular beam.

The bottom half of the beam is aluminum, and the top half is steel. The halves are bonded together. The entire beam is heated from 20 degrees C to 200 degrees C. The left side of the beam is fixed in the X direction.

This results window shows the XX stress in the beam. The green regions are negative (compression) and the yellow regions are positive (tension).

Front view of beam:

if you start at the left and move along the x axis, the stress distribution looks fairly uniform until you get to the end of the beam, where it changes a bit.

If you rotate the beam to look at its right side:

Here the stress distribution looks “blotchy.”

Should I expect the stress in the beam to be uniform throughout? Or is it normal that the stress gets complicated at the end of the beam, on the right side?

Thank you!

Steven

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
4 REPLIES 4

Interesting results

It makes sense, though i don't think i could have predicted this.