cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can Bookmark boards, posts or articles that you'd like to access again easily! X

Creo Sketcher 1.0 user problems

ptc-4463215
1-Newbie

Creo Sketcher 1.0 user problems

Hello,

I am a retired hobbyist with some programming background (when I was actively working). I am interested in playing around with the free Creo Sketch 1.0 2D program. The YouTube videos from PTC were nice and sparked my interest. I will probably never purchase anything, but I would surely like to see what Sketch 2D could do to allow me to create minor personal 2D drawings. I have investigated other free CAD programs, but Sketch sounds so interesting that I would like to try it. I downloaded the free .msi installer and ran it to install Sketch. It copied several new files and created a desktop icon that pointed to a sketch.bat batch file. I am running fully genuine Microsoft WIndows 7 Home Premium on a true Intel desktop computer with 4GB RAM and adequate hard disk space. I am the only user on this machine so I run as administrator.

I installed Creo Sketch 1.0 into the default C:\Program Files (x86)\PTC\Creo 1.0\ folder and the installer created several sub-folders and a desktop icon. All appeared normal until I attempted to run Sketch. All the double clicked desktop icon does is to open a batch file.