cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need help navigating or using the PTC Community? Contact the community team. X

Problems creating a coiled bulb filament.

MeDaveo
1-Newbie

Problems creating a coiled bulb filament.

Hi There,

I'm a little new to Pro-E so please bear with me on this. Thanks.

I'm currently using WF4 on 32-bit XP and need to create a bulb filament i.e. a helical coil. I've looked at some other examples of this requirement but am still a little confused as to the process right from the beginning.

I have created springs using a helical sweep as this is fairly straight forward but my math is not the best so understanding the 'Trajpar' equation etc is a bit taxing on my already wheezing brain. I've been practising and trying to understand this for over a day now. (don't tell my boss)

I came across a post quoting (Denavit-Hartenberg aproximation) ( 9 homogeneus matrix). This is new to me but the part is exactly what i'm looking to create however the example Rar file does not work on my PC. (64-bit part on my 32-bit PC perhaps) This would have been very useful to see how it was created using 'edit definition' maybe? Also the equation uses symbols i cannot find the definition off anywhere i.e.

X = c1*(c2*(c3*l3+l2)+l1)-l3*s1*s3
y = c1*l3*s3+(c2*(c3*l3+l2)+l1)*s1
z = (c3*l3+l2)*s2

Should c, l, & s just be numeric values or does it mean something more?

Apologies in advance for my limited math capability but can anyone help me with this please?

Regards,

Dave...