cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

Putting a .txt file into Relations

ckirsch
1-Newbie

Putting a .txt file into Relations

I like to keep a Notpad window open when I'm working to keep all my Relations info handy (I'm lazy and fingers never leave the the Ctrl C or V keys) but it would be nice to be able to have my Relations read from that .txt file and that way the same relations could be read throughout multiple parts. Or is there any easier way to do this? I'm pretty new to this slightly more advanced stuff.

Thanks Guys!

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
BenLoosli
23-Emerald II
(To:ckirsch)

If the changes are the same for all existing parts, write a mapkey or use ModelCheck.

If the changes are for all parts going forward, modify the start_part template.

If you have multiple options of relations needed for different part types, use multiple start_parts or a common start_part and mapkeys.

There is no way currently that Creo can read the contents of a text file and paste them in the relations editor automatically. Cut and Paste manually is your best bet short of a keystroke recorder at the OS level.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
BenLoosli
23-Emerald II

If you have relations that you use in every part, put them in your start part template file. No copy/paste needed.