Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Measure Tool in Creo 2.0

Highlighted

Re: Measure Tool in Creo 2.0

I've been using Pro/E for 17 years and I believe you've always had to choose a CS to get X, Y, Z data.

--
Doug Schaefer | Experienced Mechanical Design Engineer
LinkedIn
Highlighted

That explains why I never liked using the measure tool in any version of Pro|E

Highlighted

Doug

Brian gives a very good example of this where he lists the 9 steps needed to measure plane to surface or surface to surface.

I'm glad that you can use the tool without difficulty; perhaps it all will make sense in time. Part of it is what a person gets used to. I guess I'd still prefer doing the same operation in 4 steps. Inquiry/Surface to Surface/Select 2 surfaces.

I'm very green at this software yet I've seen it surpass the software I still use in some of it's capabilities. Still I hate how cumbersome it is.

Highlighted

Not to get too picky, but much of the difficulty Brian lists has to do with long standing issues with the selection method in Proe / Creo, not really the measure tool. I agree with him on that point, query select should give me the nearest item first, the next nearest second and so on. It doesn't adn if it did, that would make measuring much easier.

You can set your selection filter at the bottom right of the screen from 'All' to 'Surface' which would help.

I've used Proe / Creo since 1996, rev. 16. The measure tool in Creo is a significant improvement compared to what we had before.

--
LinkedIn

Those of you with maintenance, please vote on this idea:

http://communities.ptc.com/ideas/1026

Highlighted

I agree, it takes more mouse clicks than it used to.