cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Visit the PTCooler (the community lounge) to get to know your fellow community members and check out some of Dale's Friday Humor posts! X

Pro/E & Visual Basic Interfacing HELP!!!

Dandreoli
1-Newbie

Pro/E & Visual Basic Interfacing HELP!!!

Does Pro/E have functionality with Visual Basic or some programming language?

I am a recent grad, new to Pro/E and have a little VBA experience. I am trying to create some code which will allow me to automatically open Pro/E files, create PDF's and then close the file. I haven't used these community type sites much either, so I don't think I am searching very effectively. If someone could point me in the right direction I would be so grateful.

Eager to learn all I can,

thanks very much,

Derek A.

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
4 REPLIES 4

Hi Derek

A new Parametric Foundation Classes (PFC) based Visual Basic API is available in Wildfire
4.0. Users versed in Visual Basic programming can use this new API to automate and
customize Pro/ENGINEER from Visual Basic.NET applications and Visual Basic macros in
applications like Microsoft Word, Excel or Access.
The Visual Basic API:
- Contains the same capabilities as asynchronous J-Link (core Pro/ENGINEER part,
assembly, and drawing manipulation; Windchill server access; data exchange; Pro/
ENGINEER user interface customization and applications triggered by events
occurring in the Pro/ENGINEER session)