cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

Constraint doesn't follow subbed family table part

CA
4-Participant
4-Participant

Constraint doesn't follow subbed family table part

I have an assembly insert constraint that does not track a hole that changes position when a Simplified Rep uses a Substitute by Family Table part as shown below.

Hole location dimension has relation to a parameter. That parameter is changed in the part family table.

Why doesn't the insert follow this hole? Have I gone the wrong direction in using Simplified Reps?

I'm new to Pro having years with I-DEAS, SW and Inventor. Your help is greatly appreciated.

Issue-ConstraintsDoNotFollowSubbedInstance1.jpg

creo elements/pro 5.0

Release: 5.0

Date Code: M130

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
5 REPLIES 5
TomD.inPDX
17-Peridot
(To:CA)

When you 'edit definition" on the plate, are there errors in the placement constraints?

Does it correct itself once you close the "edit definition" dialog without changes?

I am not family table literate, but that is where I would look.

CA
4-Participant
4-Participant
(To:TomD.inPDX)

There are no constraint errors. I do find, however, no errors present because that part reverts back to the generic when using "edit definition". Image below.

The plate remains in the same position when I close the "edit definition" dialog.

Issue-ConstraintsDoNotFollowSubbedInstance2.jpg

TomD.inPDX
17-Peridot