cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

INSERT_DRW_SHEET

bnoll
3-Visitor

INSERT_DRW_SHEET

First off, I will introduce myself. I am an 18+ year employee for Johnson Controls Inc., formerly known as York Internation Corp. I had currently resided in the Engineering IT organization for 15 of those years and have since moved to a specific product line to start some automation tasks with Pro|E. We currently run Windchill 10.0 and Pro|E Wildfire 4.0 (not by choice). I have dabbled in SmartAssembly off and on for years, so I have some knowledge.

With my current project, I am automating the creation of a data nameplate. I have a template Pro|E part that has sketch text that is driven by part parameters. I also have a template drawing that is attached to this part, which has all the needed views and dimensions associated.

With that said, my SA program works wonders with extracting the data from Excel, pushing the data to Pro|E and updating the drawing (while in session). I am currently struggling with Pro|E recognizing there is a change happening to the drawing, so it will save with the new data displayed each time.

This is typical interaction with Pro|E, where I would "trick" it into thinking it has changed by adding a new sheets, tweek a parameter or edit relations. My thought is, if I cannot force the save in Pro|E, there is likely no magical command in SA that will let me do so.

OK, so I am adding code to add a new drawing sheet and then delete the sheet (my form of "tricking" Pro|E). I have already made reference to the drawing (tested with a Print statement) as REFDRW. I have entered the following command only to recieve a program error upon execution:

INSERT_DRW_SHEET REFDRW 2

REMOVE_DRW_SHEET REFDRW 2