Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MOST ANNOYING THINGS WITH CREO

Highlighted

Re: MOST ANNOYING THINGS WITH CREO

Shell, Sweeps, Blends, etc.
CREO sucks at advanced solid modeling.

I have a model that is a solid cylinder with with 2 "ports" removed from the cylinder, 1 is a sweep and the other is a blend. This is nothing fancy. I want to shell the model to represent a cast part. CREO fails.
I've tried to build this model 10 different ways.
I've tried building the sweep and blend as individual solid features and then trim them back to a thickened extrude of the cylinder. I've tried developing multiple surfaces (another retarded methodology in CREO which takes forever) and errors eventually blow everything up.
And I'm no spring chicken on CREO or CAD in general. I used to be a CATIA V5 instructor and have over 15 years in CAD work, almost all in advanced modeling.

CREO is like working with a politicians trying to explain common sense only to find out that the part of the brain necessary for the conversation was never present in the first place.

Valve.JPG

Highlighted

Hmmm, hey Brian, looks like the ports intersect, and I'd imagine that's where the trouble lies?

Highlighted

Probably not the ports, but the thickened surfaces of the ports.

If you shell it using a very small thickness it probably works okay.

But of course you would simply want it to work, without having to figure out first why it doesn't work, and then think of a workaround...

Highlighted

Nope. Any thickness fails.

Highlighted

Frank, unfortunately, the geometry is intentional. I've modeled parts similar to this in other CAD packages and never had issues.
CREO struggles in general with blends, sweeps and extrudes working together. It also struggles with giving the operator control over the direction of the surfaces as compared to other packages, but I expect that.