cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

My BOM balloons keep getting erased

BlakelyJames
1-Newbie

My BOM balloons keep getting erased

Good morning all, (depending on your time zone)

This is my first time posting on these forums; I'm usually keep myself to car forums, so bear with me.

I'm a mechanical designer and our office has been using Creo 1.0 for the past 6 months; we've switched from Pro-Engineer WF4 which we had been using since I joined the company.

A common problem I'm facing is with my BOM balloons. When I'm working on large assemblies where many bolts, washers and nuts have to be installed on various mating parts, I'm forced to create as many views as required to make the installation clear. This means I split my balloon quantities (I use quantity split balloons) between views. I then merge my balloons for washers, nuts and bolts so that only one of them has a leader. (to clean up the view and not have a ton of leaders pointing at the same component)

Then the unthinkable happens. I leave the page to go to another page, to work on an unrelated view of the assembly. Upon my return the initial page, some of my balloons have vanished! (*gasp*) But how! I...I couldn't have erased them, I was somewhere else! But where have they gone!? Under the sofa? Nope. Under the pickle jar? Nope. Oh, let's have a look in the Annotations sub-tab of the view under the Drawing Tree. Oh, here they are! They're erased! Let me unerase them! Come my children, return to your home! And so now they're back, merged as they were to their assembled components. I decide to save and close my drawing.

The next day, I return to the drawing to see how my balloons are doing. *GASP* Others have vanished!! And not necessarily the same ones! Are you not happy where you are??