cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

Need help making noncircular curve for modeling part

nthomas-2
1-Newbie

Need help making noncircular curve for modeling part

Hey guys.  So I'm fairly new to CREO, I'm taking my first class on it this semester.  For a term project we're required to model all parts of a chainsaw.  Right now I'm working on a piece with a noncircular curve and I'm looking for some advice on the best way to do it.  A couple things I've tried so far:

- Datum -> Curve -> Curve through points (I traced my part onto paper, made a coordinate plane to plot points on the curve (did about 25), and then used this curve through points).  The downside on this one is that although I tried my best to be accurate, measuring points to the 64th of an inch, they still didn't line up in a perfect curve.  However, this looks very close to the curve.  The only other thing is I'm not sure what the best way to dimension the part on my drawing would be (dimensioning 25 points would probably look terrible but again I'm new, maybe that's how it's done?)

- Tried plotting the points in the STAT of my calculator and then tried a few different functions for best fit line.  Downside to this is I can't get one that passes through my start and end points, which I believe is critical to the part.  Maybe there's another way to get a best fit line equation that will go through both of those points?  (I was planning on using the curve from equation to plot it this way)

Maybe I'm a little too obsessed with getting this perfect but I just want to learn the program the best I can.  Any ideas on the best way to go about this and the best way to dimension it afterwards as well?