cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Selecting Items During a Balloon Component Command?

msiders
1-Newbie

Selecting Items During a Balloon Component Command?

Hello,

I've been a Mechanical Designer for over 5 years and have recently started using PTC Creo Parametric 3.0 M070.  I have asked my fellow designers regarding this issue and have been searching trying to find a solution and have not found anything on it.

I have an assembly drawing with 4 sheets, 2 of which contain Section views.

Within the section views, I am trying to use the Balloon Component command.

I have found that when using this command, I am unable to select items being shown in the section view.

What I have found to be happening, is that it is selecting the items that are in the foreground, yet are not displayed within the view.

So my question is, is it possible to turn off the selection of items not shown in section, so that I can only select items that are displayed in a section view?

I have taken a few screen shots to help explain/show my issue.

In the first picture, I am able to select the items I want to balloon, prior to running the balloon component command.

I have tried selecting the items, then running the command, but have found this clears the selection.

I have checked to see if the ability to pre-select items before running a command is active, and it is.

The second picture shows the problem I am having.

While the balloon Component command is active, I am unable to select the items shown in the view, due to the items not shown in the foreground taking precedence over the items shown.