cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

Help with surfaces and curves

ptc-4553037
1-Newbie

Help with surfaces and curves

Hello. I am relatively new to Creo and I need help with my model.

My projects is to make a CAD model of a masku that I want CNC cut and put up on my wall at home.

Here is a rendering of the mask:

zx8qa0.jpg

At the moment my model looks like this.

MMCAD.png

I have sketched some curves and made surfaces between them. Then I sketched the contours of the mask's eyes and lines, etc on a plane and projected them down on the surfaces.

My question is now; how do I get these contours, say the pupils, to have an offset/be above the main surface of the mask/ "higher" up? (I need these contour changes so the CNC machine can pick them up).

Thanks alot!

8 REPLIES 8

I am very sorry if this is not the right place for this kind of questions, but I couldnt find my way around the forum 😕

This is the perfect place for these questions. It is just a little quiet around here on the weekends.

In short, you want to use the offset feature... but not generically...

Take a look at the offset command and use the button that depicts a drafted/lofted feature. This will allow you to change raise or lower a sketched feature on the quilt (combined surface) of your choice. It is very powerful when you start looking at the options, including projection direction, applied draft, and even radius' on the edges. It is primarily a "stamping" type tool and is perfect for your application. in fact, it will likely take place of all those sketches you extruded to the surface since it uses flat sketches which act on the surface. The key is selecting the right button in the dialog:

offset_on_faces.PNG