cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

I am interested in the analysis of the screw.

kenzo_yamamoto
9-Granite

I am interested in the analysis of the screw.

I am a 70 year-old engineer.
At present, I am interested in the analysis of the screw.
Because, I have the doubt that why the wheel bolt of the large truck is broken.
According to the analysis of myself, I came to the following conclusion.
That is, there is a problem in the thing with very short bolt length.
The bolt length is length from the seat surface of the bolt to the 1st pile of Nut’

s.
Therefore, I inquired to the expert about this estimation, but I have not got in the

answer which is appropriate for now.
Moreover, there are individual standards such as the screw, the bolt and Nut, but I

feels that there is not a standard about the application.
Therefore, I have thought that I posted a message to this place and I would like to

hear an opinion.

Question 1
Let me know if there is a standard about the way of using to the bolt and Nut.
( Ex. ) The company design standard :
It is necessary that the bolt length is longer than half of the bolt diameter size.

Question 2
According to my analysis, the problem occurs when bolt length is short extremely.
That is, the screw is easy to loosen.
Also, if the screw loosens once, it develop into the fatigue destruction.
Then, the wheel bolt broke.
I want to ask the opinion about my reasoning.

Question 3
Let me know if there is literature which was analyzed about the screw.
For the literature on the recent screw in Japan, there are the literature of FEM

(Ansys)analysis about the looseness of the screw.
Let me know if there is literature which was analyzed in Nastran of PTC.

2 REPLIES 2