cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

Solver to iterate for target total volume?

ptc-5695574
1-Newbie

Solver to iterate for target total volume?

Hello All,

I am new to Creo coming from Catia.

I have a sketch being extruded up to a complex surface (extrusion in the Z direction).

My input is: total volume of the extrusion. My output should be the z-position of the sketch.

In Catia I have access to a solver where it would iterate through several z-position to match my required total volume.

How can I do the same in Creo?

Either through a solver or through macros.

Regards,

Nico.

6 REPLIES 6

There is no magic way to do this but there are ways if you can either do the calculation or if you are willing to go through a couple regenerations to get the answer back.

If the volume is simple enough and you can do the math, you can use relations to do the math based on geometry information.

For more complex geometry, you can make a more complex model to calculate the negative volume using analysis. in this case, you actually have to make a "volume" part and subtract your actual part and let analysis return the volume of the "negative" part.

You can use values across parts but your head will swim before you get it all worked out. Watch out for circular references.

Thanks Antonius.

The tricks are always useful when the software is limited.

Unfortunately in my case I do need a robust approach that can be scaled up (i.e. complex geometry + more variables).

Is there a macro approach that would enable me to change the z parameter of my sketch and get the volume of the part. If I can set this up as a function, I am happy enough to setup a solver (bissection or better) around this.

Thanks,

Nico