cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

Things not to say to an engineer

DanMarotta
2-Guest

Things not to say to an engineer

If you work in an office, you are no doubt subject to office cliches. The movie Office Space immediately comes to mind.

OfficeSpace.png

As an engineer, are there things that are said that especially irks you?

"Can you make this tiny tweak?"

"What would it look like if we added this?"

"Can we take this offline?"

"Someone has a case of the Monday's."

These are just a few of my guesses. I'm not a design engineer, so I would love to hear your perspective.

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
53 REPLIES 53

What does your schedule look like over the holidays?

-- This is the information that I was given.

-- I'm as in the dark as you are.

Boss saids for a new project with no new resources

"Why did you put that there?"

(Then I pull out my CYA notes that was signed and dated by the person asking the question.)

"Can't you just..."

Those three words spell DOOM for most engineers and designers I know.

As in:

"Can't you just move everything back to the way it was?"

"Can't you just hit a button on that fancy CAD system and fix that part?"

Ugh!

That goes along with the old proverb that "Everything is easy for the man who doesn't have to do it himself."

Mr.E
1-Newbie
(To:sshannon)