cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

prehighighlighting of imported geometry

jstarkey
1-Newbie

prehighighlighting of imported geometry

I have not found a good way!

This is a huge problem for mold designers, like me using Pro-Mold and EMX.

I work on a lot of large imported parts. Pre-Highlight (in WF) as it tries to highlight these parts and mold extracts. You turn pre-highlight off, then you have a bunch of monkey motion extra mouse picks trying to deal with it, with-in the selection filter.

I work as a contract mold designer. A number of my customers are at ownership level (of mold shops) and do not have the new toy, new software, oh-boy altitude toward software. They are concerned strictly with the bottom line. I venture to say pre-highlight adds 20-30% to a mold design. Many of these shops are hanging onto their Pro-E version 2001 or have switched to other software packages over this issue. I have tried mapkeys for the selection filter to deal with this issue, without much luck.

I have repeatedly ask, the man in charge of product development at PTC, as well have turned in enhancement requests for some sort of Config.pro option. This to turn pre-highlight off and to have the option for selection to work as it did Pre-WF.

So far no luck!

I agree with you and hope something gets done!

Best Regards,
James Starkey
Starkey Tech. Serv., L.L.C.

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.