Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Enable Gateway to export linked objects

Enable Gateway to export linked objects

Improvement

As a Requirements Engineer/Test Engineer I want to export a requirement document/test suite (segment), which consists of requirements/test cases (nodes) including their respective test cases/requirements. Requirements/Test cases are linked to test cases/requirements via a trace relationship.

As-Is situation

It is possible to export IDs of linked items through Gateway:

<field internal="Verifies" external="Verifies" field-type="relationship" />

And regarding PTC Gateway User Guide it is also possible to include related content via attribute include-related:

<field internal="Verifies" external="Verifies" field-type="relationship" include-related="yes"/>

Enable Gateway debugging, and it can be confirmed by looking at logfile GatewayApp.log that Gateway application is actually parsing data of linked objects. Until the following happens:

2/26/18 11:17 AM -- [Gateway-App] DEBUG(10): Flattening tree structure...

Gateway is only exporting items of one document (segment).

PTC Services has a solution to overcome this restriction (thanks to @VolkerEckardt). I appreciate this work, however, I would prefer an integrated solution for several reasons: e.g. official support, compatibility issues, etc.

Cheers, Richard.

References

Gateway Knowledge Hub

Gateway slow with "include-related" set to "true"

Gateway: Possibility to export related issues

Differences between Gateway configuration versions

Integrity Ideas: Ability to query list of test steps by Test Suite id

Acess 1:N related data in XML to Word export

3 Comments
Level 11

Thanks a lot for mentioning me in this idea.  Yes, I have created a solution which serves exactly this purpose: allowing you to get related items including any field of interest (and not only the related item IDs).

There are two notes you should be aware of: