cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Windchill RV&S: Best Practices - Part 1

No ratings

Intention

This tip lists different best practices how we are managing certain administrative use cases within Integrity LM. All of them are in production since some years, and very stable.

Status

The list below is a working list. Feel free to comment or even add more. I will update the main tip section accordingly.

Best Practices with Use Cases

Topic #1

• Environment specific images for the Presentation Layout.

Use Case

• As a user or administrator, I want to see easily in which environment I am working.

Best Practice

• Add an Image to the presentation layout, which has always the same name, such as environment.png
  • The link is pointing to a file on that specific server.
  • The image itself presents the Environment, such as TEST or PROD.
  • This solution also works in a stage environment.

Example

Topic #2

• Stageable Gateway Configurations

Use Case

• As a system administrator, I want to stage all files, including the XML files in gateway + gateway/mappings.

Best Practice

Topic #3

• Versioning of Customizations

Use Case

• As an Integrity Administrator I want to version any customized file of my Integrity Server

Best Practice

• Create a folder structure in Source which matches exactly the sever structure of your Integrity. Put all files that you want to version into this folder structure.
  • Create also a folder structure under public_html/gateway to serve the Best Practice #2.
  • Create another folder structure that matches the local folder structure for your client. Put any file into this structure which you need to deploy to your clients.