cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

Constant Load Volume Milling

ptc-4688327
1-Newbie

Constant Load Volume Milling

Gentlemen,

I am relatively new to programming using Pro NC and I am wondering if anyone knows much about the "CONSTANT LOAD" function for rough voluming. Everytime I try to use it in a closed pocket it retracts when it encounters a wall. It creates a 3D curve retract back to the retract plane for the sequence. I have had success going through channels but I had to use a retract plane that was just above my cut plane. It doesn't seem very safe to create a retract plane that is down inside a pocket.

I would appreciate any insight or links to tutorials about this tool path. It looks like Mastercam has Pro beat in this area.

-Scott

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Scott,

Jose Coronado posted in July, coming improvements to “Linking” otherwise known as retracts.

It hard too see, but the image below the difference in amount of retracts.

Hang in there.

Barry

Capture2.PNG

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

Scott,