cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - If community subscription notifications are filling up your inbox you can set up a daily digest and get all your notifications in a single email. X

circle will be upside down on G18 (XZ) plane

anagy
3-Visitor

circle will be upside down on G18 (XZ) plane

I’m relatively new to the option file generator (1 year). I’ve been using creo (pro engineer) for 25 years.

I’m using #14 fadal VMC15 profile. I found that for a G18 (X-Z) plane certain G2 and G3 gcodes are mixed up when I export the tool paths.

The rest of the gcode maintain the proper coordinate system direction. If I test the gcode with https://ncviewer.com/ the circles will show up upside down

So I’m looking for a setting that will swap G3 output for G2 output eventually switching the direction of the Y axis in the XZ plane (G18)

I tried checking in/off the CIRCLE/cmd translation – among others with no avail.

Any help/suggestion is appreciated. thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
anagy
3-Visitor
(To:anagy)

Ken. thanks again for the suggestion. I tried the middle option "circular move from +X to +Z is counterclockwise" and it worked. it'll swap the G3 move to a G2 move in the G18 (X-Z) plane. the other planes (G17 & G19) are working fine. I wonder why this is an outlier for the old school anilam system. 

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
KenFarley
21-Topaz I

When you say your arc paths are "upside down" do you mean it's giving you the opposite of what you expect, like it's trying to cut 270 degrees instead of the 90 you need to go around a corner?

Are you defining your G02/G03 paths using vectors (I, J, K) or a radius? If the radius, I'd suggest switching to the vector nomenclature, it takes a lot of the misinterpretation out of the process.