cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Have a PTC product question you need answered fast? Chances are someone has asked it before. Learn about the community search. X

An old guy that remembers Mathcad DOS

RantEng
12-Amethyst

An old guy that remembers Mathcad DOS

At the end of April, I will be retiring after 40 years of Engineering.  I started using Mathcad with the DOS version in 1986.   Since then, it has been my go-to thinking tool.  I welcomed the Windows version in 1992.  I bit the bullet in 2013 with Prime 3 and committed to the transition from the old MathSoft versions.  It was not easy, but finally, I'm glad I did.

It is one of the first programs that I start with the computer each morning.  I use it to document my calculations.  As a licensed PE, it is essential to my approval of Engineering designs.  As a part-time Professor, I use it in my lectures to derive or demonstrate example calculations.  I will continue to use it in my retirement.

Now the real point of this post.  Out of curiosity, how many out there in this forum used the DOS version? When did you start using Mathcad and at what version?   What do you use it for? 

Wouldn't it be great if PTC offered a retirement license for all the licenses, we've paid for over the years?

10 REPLIES 10
DJNewman
17-Peridot
(To:RantEng)

This was before I was born, but for whatever reason people at PTC have saved this old MathSoft flyer. Maybe someone here will feel nostalgia for it?

I manage the Creo and PTC Mathcad YouTube channels for PTC, as well as all PTC Mathcad marketing in general.
FredLusk
12-Amethyst