cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

Decimal Places

Valyence
1-Newbie

Decimal Places

Hi I am very new to Matchcad and i am having trouble getting Mathcad to display to correct number of decimal places. What i have read says that by default Mathcad should display 3 decimal places. Whenever I perform calculations I am getting something like 21 decimal places. I looked in the help files and it says to go to format,result, and then change the decimal places. The problem is that mine is at the default of three decimal places so this leaves me stuck on where to go because it displays 21 decimal places. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Matt

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:Valyence)

Mathcad does both symbolic math and numeric math. You should be using numeric math.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
nas0k
7-Bedrock

A simple solution would be to select "float" (floating point evaluation) from the Symbolic toolbar; "float, 6" works close to what you may accept.

Norm

Valyence
1-Newbie
(To:nas0k)

Yes thanks for the help. I actually figured out what the problem was. I had to apply those results to the symbolic results as well. Thanks for leading me in the right direction.

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:nas0k)

A simple solution would be to select "float" (floating point evaluation) from the Symbolic toolbar; "float, 6" works close to what you may accept.

You should be aware that if you use the float keyword it does not only change the display precision of the result, is changes the the precision used for the calculations.

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite

Mathcad does both symbolic math and numeric math. You should be using numeric math.