cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need help navigating or using the PTC Community? Contact the community team. X

Host-ID

sandra1
1-Newbie

Host-ID

Hello maybe you can helb me with my Host-ID.

I am new at mathcad and so I have a question to the licensing.

First I had to log in and then I have to enter the productcode and pick a Host-ID.

2 different Host-IDs are suggested but I just dont know for what I need it and which one I should pick.

9 REPLIES 9
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:sandra1)

From the installation guide:

To request a license, know the Host ID of the computer to which you intend to
assign the license. In most cases, the Host ID will be the MAC address of the
active network adapter. For more information on types of licenses and the Host
ID, see Obtaining a License.

Is it possible that the computer you are using has two network (ethernet) interfaces, one for wired (LAN) the other wireless (WiFi)?

I think I would supply the MAC address of the wired interface in your case (having the option to choose), because that one is bound to stay with the computer. The wireless network adapter is more probably interchangeable, and then it's MAC address would be changed as well, with all its consequences.

Success!

Luc

You can run getmac /v from the command prompt to get information about your computer's MAC addresses.

I have three: Ethernet (my Mathcad license is linked to this one), Wi-Fi, and VPN.

Edit:

The default display format (table) cuts off long text.  use the following command to see the full text:

getmac /v /fo list

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:LucMeekes)

If it's a notebook computer, and you unplug the network cable then the wired network adapter may shut off, and "poof" goes that MAC ID. So I would choose the WiFi MAC ID.

MJG
18-Opal
18-Opal
(To:RichardJ)