cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

ODESOLVE

TW_9638511
5-Regular Member

ODESOLVE

Hi everyone,

As a chemical engineering student, I am trying to solve a pipeloop problem. 

I stated all the necessary balances (see below):

TW_9638511_0-1671100207133.png

And the other necessary formulas:

TW_9638511_1-1671100249597.png

which I want to solve for Fh(v),Fo(v) and Fc(v) from v=0 until v=VL.

now I've set up this solve block:

TW_9638511_3-1671100487991.png

which in theory seems solvable, as there are 5 unknowns and 5 equations.

Is this the correct way to solve this problem?

With kind regards,

Tim

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

You have a couple of errors.

The functions you are looking for are functions in just one variable (v) but you sometimes used them as if they were functions in three variables.

Sometimes you simply wrote F.C (as if it were a simple variable) instead of F.C(...)

In the IC you had a typo and wrote C.CL twice and were missing C.OL

You have to solve for ALL unknown functions even if you are not interested in C.CL and C.OL

This should help (worksheet attached):

Werner_E_0-1671116666860.png

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
TW_9638511
5-Regular Member
(To:TW_9638511)

When I try to solve it within the solveblock:

TW_9638511_2-1671105284785.png

I get the following error:

TW_9638511_0-1671105192332.png

You have a couple of errors.

The functions you are looking for are functions in just one variable (v) but you sometimes used them as if they were functions in three variables.

Sometimes you simply wrote F.C (as if it were a simple variable) instead of F.C(...)

In the IC you had a typo and wrote C.CL twice and were missing C.OL