cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Plotting Multivariable Multifunction Summation Function

WM_10738028
3-Visitor

Plotting Multivariable Multifunction Summation Function

Hello,

I'm new to mathcad (express prime 9.0.0.0 and have full functionality for another month), so extra points for being extra articulate 🙂

The image below on the left is what I am trying to accomplish and what I've typed out within Mathcad.

The image below on the right is the book example I am trying to replicate.

I am trying to plot Fr_eff/X vs X with different "p" values, which makes sense when looking at the text.

Some Questions:

1. Why is the error "trying to plot to many range variables showing up?"
  2. In the example textbook they are showing the function they are Plotting "Fr/X". How are they plotting the function without writing the inputs to the function, ie. Fr(X,p)?
  3. They are only plotting p=0.5 up to 7 (in increments of approximately 1 in certain cases), which is not how they define p at the top. How are they only plotting certain p values, and not all of them?
  4. Last and obvious question, what am I doing wrong?

Modified_Dowells.mc.png textbook_dowells.jpg

Thanks

EDIT: I've attached the worksheet as well

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Here's the "magic" 😉

You type square brackets in defining some of the functions. Never do this unless you intend to create a vector/matrix. Only use parentheses . Mathcad 15 and below sometimes used square brackets on expressions with nested parentheses when displaying them, but you never type them in.

The picture shows that the horizontal x-xis also should be logarithmically scaled. You can move the axis with the mouse so they cross at (1; 0.1).