cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

Watts per meter per Degree C

ESHTraceHeating
1-Newbie

Watts per meter per Degree C

Forgive my ignorance I'm very new to this system and currently trialling it.

We are looking at some calculations from International Standards and struggling with the MathCad recognition of the units.

When I set the unit value up as Watts/m*°C its constantly highlights the °C in red and tells me it should be a scalar or in a matrix, which I'm still trying to understand the link to this?

I can get this box to go away if I replace it with the symbol ∆°C, which then allows the calculation to function.

The only problem then is the result from the equation should be in W/m*°C but the calculation keeps forcing a K, )which I'm guessing is Kelvin) to the front to the units which then causes problems with another calculation as the units become undefined even though they are a result of an equation?

We end up with K*W/m*°C, and the answer should simply be W/m*°C?

Not the worlds best mathematician but struggling to understand why the programme forces a change to a recognised International unit of measurement?

Any help in understanding this would be appreciated, I'm hoping I'm missing something very obvious.

7 REPLIES 7

Are you using Mathcad or Prime?

Very new to this so not 100% sure what I'm looking at.

I downloaded the trial of Mathcad with the full functionality version for 30 days option.

On the top of the page it says PTC Mathcad Express Prime 4.0

In the options it is Release Prime 4.0 64-bit, Datecode M010 (2017.06.01.001) Locale en-US.

If that identifies it.