cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

How to import and work with .stl files?

kcy0511
1-Newbie

How to import and work with .stl files?

FIrst let me say I am new to PTC Creo but I have used other CAD programs such as Inventor.

We recently obtained an EKOCYCLE 3D printer and were looking for things to do with it. I found a model of Falco from Star Fox as an .STL and showed it to my mentors who told me that I should see if I could remove the gun from his holster and replace it with a wrench. I did that though a combination of Meshmixer and Meshlab. Afterwards I was told that I need to remove the disc from his other hip. The STL is linked below and I can attach other files if that will help.

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:652635

What I am trying to ask is can I import an stl to a solid part? If so, How? Also, what tools and commands help me work on meshes?

Thank you in advance.

Side note: I am trying to use this as an exercise to learn Creo as our team plans on switching over later this year.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
sm
1-Newbie
1-Newbie
(To:kcy0511)

All you need to do is drag-n-drop the file into the Creo graphics window or just use File, Open and change the Type to All Files. It looks like you do not have the required license to edit Faceted Geometry in the Student Edition of Creo. That said, it looks like all you will able to do with the file is open it, view it and save it in other formats.

Importing facet geometry and editing is an advanced capability of Creo Parametric and is not a good baseline of moving from Inventor to Creo. I would suggest looking at the curriculum named How to Model Almost Anything in the Document section of the Community.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
sm
1-Newbie
1-Newbie
(To:kcy0511)