cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

Unable to connect to thingworx academic stimulator

spatekar
4-Participant

Unable to connect to thingworx academic stimulator

Hello,

I am following the tutorial from IOT university.

In this course, we can connect our thingworx platform with IOT academic stimulator by putting the server, Application key & port. 

I have thingworx running on localhost with apache tomcat. my thingworx server URL is http://localhost:8080/Thingworx/Composer/index.html

but if I placed localhost against server field, I am unable to connect with IOT academic stimulator. I am a newbie here.

My objective is to connect with IOT academic stimulator with localhost URL. Kindly share your input on the same.

Thanks in advance.

10 REPLIES 10

Server URL: academic.cloud.thingworx.com

AppKey: 2998bda1-8fd9-466f-bdd0-2f90d530b97c

Username:

you are not doing it correctly in the server just type-localhost and uncheck the ssl security then it will work for sure on the local machine via apache.keep the port number as 8080

Regards

Deepankar manchanda

@deman I'm having the same problem. I tried to change everything, localhost to port 80/8080 but still cannot connect to the Thingworx server using the simulator. Any other suggestions?

let me give you a snapshot how to do it

jamesso
10-Marble
(To:deman)

What about when using the Java version of the Academic Edge Connector?

When I installed my local thingworx instance I decided I would use port 8090 instead.

That shouldn't make a difference, right?

jamesso
10-Marble
(To:jamesso)

For the Java Academic edge connector, the port can't be 8090.