cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

3D plots

hw3
1-Newbie
1-Newbie

3D plots

Hi all

I'm pretty new to Mathcad so am just learning the ropes. I'm having trouble with creating a 3D surface plot of a function with two variables. Can anyone see where I'm going wrong?

Thanks in advance

Ben

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
StuartBruff
23-Emerald II
(To:hw3)

Ben Fulford wrote:

Hi all

I'm pretty new to Mathcad so am just learning the ropes. I'm having trouble with creating a 3D surface plot of a function with two variables. Can anyone see where I'm going wrong?

Thanks in advance

Ben

Ben

The 3D plot algorithm defaults to a range of -5 to +5 over both axes. This results in complex numbers when applied to Npmelt - hence the complaint. You need to manually set the range you want in the 'Quickplot' tab on the 3D plot dialog or use CreateMesh to generate the data. I've attached a worksheet that uses a variant of matrix to create the Npmelt array.

Stuart

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
StuartBruff
23-Emerald II

Ben Fulford wrote:

Hi all

Thanks in advance

Ben

Ben

The 3D plot algorithm defaults to a range of -5 to +5 over both axes. This results in complex numbers when applied to Npmelt - hence the complaint. You need to manually set the range you want in the 'Quickplot' tab on the 3D plot dialog or use CreateMesh to generate the data. I've attached a worksheet that uses a variant of matrix to create the Npmelt array.

Stuart

Thanks for your help.

Unfortunately, for some reason I can't display the 3D plots. They don't even display in the Quicksheets. Is there a setting I need to change somewhere?

StuartBruff
23-Emerald II

Ben Fulford wrote:

Thanks for your help.