cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

Amplitude and phase from discrete fourier

Alejandro
1-Newbie

Amplitude and phase from discrete fourier

Hello everyone, after reading the related posts I´ve decided to ask directly (I didnt wanted to "invade" somebody else´s post, thats why I´ ve opened a new thread)...

Im new at mathcad, and I was trying to use discrete fourier to "filter" a wave from a bit (to obtain phase and amplitude for it). I think im actually filtering the signal, but I cannot obtain neither the phase nor the amplitude...

To understand how to do all this, I´ ve created a function composed by two sinusoidals with known phase and amplitude. As you will see I am not obtaining the right values of phase and amplitudes. How can I correct this problem? (I would prefer to use complex transform, because I won´t know the number of points of the real system).

Thanks for your time, Alejandro.

PD:Sorry, still working on my english

6 REPLIES 6

Alejandro Miccio wrote:

PD:Sorry, still working on my english

Your english is fine, way better than if I tried to communicate in your language.

FFT's aren't nearly as hard as you're making them, and they work way better with units than without.

See my highlighted changes.

Thanks for your answer!!! It was very helpful. Now I ´ll try to apply this to my system, hopefully it will work well !!!

Hello again, If you let me, I would like to ask you something else regarding fourier phase and amplitude.

I am trying to perform the same filtering on a diferent system (an harmonic oscillator, solved numerically with RK) using the previous concepts. Obviously I´m doing something wrong, and I´m not being able to find the problem.