cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Have a PTC product question you need answered fast? Chances are someone has asked it before. Learn about the community search. X

Basic integration problem

ptc-5151235
1-Newbie

Basic integration problem

I'm pretty new to MathCad and trying to integrate, however my integration is not converging. The problem seems to be in the sigma calculation since when I remove it from the second equation the calculation converges. The calc is listed below. z is defined as a vector from 5 to 50 ft and calculated every foot. Thank you very much!

Picture1.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Tha wasn't a good idea. Using a vector as input was OK. Its dangerous to mix up rangevariables and vectors. Range variable are good for three kind of things only: use them to index vectors & matrices, in programs in for-loops, in 2D-plots. Thats all. Don't confuse them with vectors just because they may look alike.

Look at the attached sheet if it would help. I set up the function to take a single scalar as parameter, but I am still unsure as of the integral. You can't take the parameter of the function as variable of integration.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

For questions of that kind its much mire useful if you post the worksheet. You can do this by chosing "Use advanced editor" at the upper left.

I am confused as of you variabl for integration - z. Chose another name, as z is the parameter of the function Q' and a constant vector as you wrote. Used the way you did it, sigma is called in the integral with a scalar (which has nothing to do with the vector z) and this will make sigma fail, I guess.

It seems to be easier if you setup your functions to deal with a single scalar value and then call it with the vector using vectorizing.

Im trying to figure out how to post the entire worksheet. may take a second