cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Visit the PTCooler (the community lounge) to get to know your fellow community members and check out some of Dale's Friday Humor posts! X

Calibrating Models with Simulated Annealing?

ptc-4365574
1-Newbie

Calibrating Models with Simulated Annealing?

I asked Dan and he said, "Good question and a little out of my area of expertise. How do you feel about re-posting your question as a discussion in the Mathcad community for our resident experts to help out? ". I am a software developer working on a science team studying the effects of climate change on the Earth’s vegetation systems. We want to try using Simulated Annealing to calibrate our model(s). I have been using MathCad for a few years to test and study limits of the various algorithms we are including in our model. The computer that I did that work on, and on which I had originally installed MathCad, died and now I have installed it on my new computer. All seems fine, but in reading and searching for a Simulated Annealing method I see mention of Numeric Recipes (a disk?) which included SA. I also found an email that said the Numeric Recipes disk is no longer available, but that many of the functions had been incorporated into the MathCad software. So, my question is, is Simulated Annealing included somewhere within MathCad and if so, where is it?

Thanks, John Wells

541-750-7436

9 REPLIES 9

Short of programming your own solutions to problems in mathcad devolve to solve blocks. These come as Given:and

Find()

Maximize()

Minimize()

Minerr()

When I right-click on maximize and minimize I ca select linear or non-linear methods

Conjugate gradient

Quasi-Newton

There are advanced options available for the non-linear methods; the help dialog for those includes the following:

Multistart