cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Stay updated on what is happening on the PTC Community by subscribing to PTC Community Announcements. X

Can an old dog teach new tricks?

HarveyHensley
3-Visitor

Can an old dog teach new tricks?

Welcome to my blog on Mathcad and chemical engineering.  This is my first blogging experience so I hope you will give me some time to climb the learning curve.

Blog objectives

I'm new to the PlanetPTC Community, but I've been using Mathcad for probably 20+ years.  I'm starting this blog for several reasons:

• to raise the visibility of chemical engineering users in the Mathcad community (I realize that there is a Chemical Engineering "space" in the community, but I didn't see a blog on that topic.  If I missed it, I apologize.)
  • to share my experiences, both with Mathcad, and in engineering in general
  • to increase the likelihood that new chemical engineers will stay with Mathcad
  • to increase the likelihood that PTC will "stay with" chemical engineers.

The stimulus for the blog

My first contribution to the community was a discussion "Why is Mathcad not used more by chemical engineers."  There have been over 700 viewings which means that maybe 100 people were following the discussion.  It would be great if 100 people initially follow this blog: it would be greater still if the followers increased with time.

I decided to start a blog instead of multiple discussions.  To me, discussions get messy, with responses to responses, and on and on.  My plan with the blog is to state my case, opinion, example, and then let people comment.  I don't plan to reply directly to those comments, but I will allow them to be viewed.  However, your comments may be the source of a followup blog, so please do comment, criticize, agree, suggest.

An initial peak at the author